Skip to main content


Table 1 Examples of countries with mandatory disclosure of allergens in pre-packed foods

From: Precautionary labelling of foods for allergen content: are we ready for a global framework?

  Wheat Other gluten-containing cereals Egg Milk Peanut Tree nuts Soy Fish Crustacean Mollusc Celery Mustard Sesame Lupin Sulphur dioxide Other
Argentina [11]       1
Australia/ New Zealand [12] 2       
Brazil [13]       1
Canada [14]      
China [15]        
European Union* [16]  
Hong Kong [17]        
Japan [18] 3 3 3 3 4 3       3
Kuwait/Gulf [19]        
Malaysia [20]        
Mexico [21]        
Singapore [22]       
South Africa [23]         
South Korea [24] 5   5 4        5
USA [25]   6        
Codex [10]        
  1. Table adapted from with reference to national legislation.
  2. *The 28 constituent member states of the European Union (EU) are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.
  3. 1 Local legislation also requires mandatory disclosure of tartrazine.
  4. 2 It is unclear whether disclosure of mollusc is required by local legislation.
  5. 3 Local legislation requires mandatory disclosure of eggs, milk, wheat, buckwheat, peanuts, shrimp and crab. In addition, disclosure is recommended (but not required) for the following 18 ingredients: abalone, squid, salmon roe, orange, kiwifruit, beef, walnut, salmon, mackerel, soybean, chicken, banana, pork, Matsutake mushroom, peach, yam, apple, and gelatin.
  6. 4 Legislation specifies prawn/shrimp and crab rather than ‘crustacea’.
  7. 5 Local legislation requires mandatory disclosure of egg, milk, buckwheat, peanuts, soybeans, wheat, mackerel (but not other finned fish), prawn/shrimp, crab, pork, peaches and tomatoes. There are no allergens for which labelling is optional.
  8. 6 Tree nuts in USA include a range of native nuts not included, for example, under EU legislation e.g. Beech, Butternut, Chestnut, Coconut, Ginko nut, Hickory nut, Lychee, Shea nut.